Skip to main content

Possible online services disruption due to Internet related outage

A worldwide technology outage is causing disruption to some State of Illinois online systems.  We are aware of this issue and are diligently working on restoration.

Illinois Smoke Alarm Law

Effective January 1, 2023

The updated law requires Illinois residents to replace their old smoke alarms with the type that has a long-term, 10-year sealed battery. This would apply to residents that are still using alarms with removable batteries or alarms that are not hardwire.

What is the Updated Smoke Alarm Law?

  • Since 1988, all dwellings in Illinois have been required to have smoke alarms
  • In 2017, Public Act 100-0200 was passed to update the Illinois Smoke Detector Act to reflect advances in alarm technology
  • As of January 1, 2023, any new smoke alarm being installed within a single or multi-family home are required to be featured with a 10-year sealed battery
  • Smoke alarms in single or multi-family homes prior to January 1, 2023 may remain in place until they exceed 10 years from their manufactured date, fails to respond to operability tests, or otherwise malfunctions


  • Homes built after 1988 that already have hardwired smoke alarms
  • Home with wireless integrated alarms that use low-power radio frequency communications, Wi-Fi, or other Wireless Local Area Networking capabilities