

Office of the Illinois State Fire Marshal

Pyrotechnic Licensing Division 1035 Stevenson Drive Springfield, IL 62703-4259



Pyrotechnic Distributor and Operator Licenses Application Instructions

Licensing Fees:

Pyrotechnic Distributor License and each renewal	\$500
Outdoor Professional License and each renewal	\$100
Proximate Audience, Limited Proximate Audience License and	\$300
each renewal	
Flame Effect License, Limited Flame Effect License and each	\$300
renewal	
Replacement license or a duplicate license (lost, stolen, address	\$25
change, damaged or destroyed)	

- All fees paid under this Act are non-refundable. 225 ILCS 227/50(c).
- The Office of the Illinois State Fire Marshal may revoke or refuse to issue the license to any person who fails to pay the requisite fees. 225 ILCS 227/55.
- You will be invoiced once your application has been approved. Payments submitted with applications and prior to application approval will be returned.

You can make your payment by either mailing in a check or using our online payment system

Checks should be payable to:

The Office of the Illinois State Fire Marshal - Pyrotechnic License <u>Mail checks to:</u> Office of the Illinois State Fire Marshal Pyrotechnic Licensing Division P.O. Box 6171 Springfield, IL 62708-6171

Online payments are accepted through our e-Commerce site:

Click here to submit an online payment

Insufficient Funds: Any person who on two occasions issues or delivers a check or other order to the Office of the Illinois State Fire Marshal that is not honored by the financial institution upon which it is drawn, because of insufficient funds on account, shall pay to the Office of the Illinois State Fire Marshal, in addition to the fees owed, a fee of \$50.00. 225 ILCS 227/55.

Insufficient Funds on Renewal Licenses: Any person who issues or delivers a check or other order to the Office of the Illinois State Fire Marshal in payment of a renewal fee that is not honored by the financial institution upon which it is drawn, because of insufficient funds on account, and the licensee whose license has lapsed continues to practice without paying the renewal fee and the \$50.00 fee for insufficient funds pursuant to 225 ILCS 227/55, shall pay to the Office of the Illinois State Fire Marshal an additional fee of \$100.00 for practicing without a current license. 225 ILCS 227/55.

Fingerprint Based Background Check Requirement Questions and Answers:

Who must be fingerprinted?

Pursuant to Section 40 of the Pyrotechnic Distributor and Operator Licensing Act, 225 ILCS 227/40, each license applicant must file a fingerprint card, in the form and manner required by the Illinois State Police ("ISP"), with the ISP to conduct a criminal history check. For Pyrotechnic Distributors, each officer of the business must submit his or her fingerprints. In the event an individual fingerprinted for a Pyrotechnic Distributor License is also applying for a Pyrotechnic Operator License, he or she only needs to submit his or her fingerprints once. For these individuals, please submit a note with your Pyrotechnic Operator License application identifying the Pyrotechnic Distributor application for which you submitted your fingerprints.

When should the applicant be fingerprinted?

The fingerprinting requirement is part of the application process. The applicant should be fingerprinted at or about the time he or she submits an application for a license.

Where should the applicant be fingerprinted?

The ISP currently requires fingerprints to be electronically submitted. Vendors are located throughout Illinois where an applicant may have his or her fingerprints electronically submitted to the ISP. The Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation manages the licensing of Fingerprint Vendors. A vendor's list is available at: https://www.idfpr.com/LicenseLookUp/fingerprintlist.asp

What is the cost for submitting fingerprints?

The ISP and the FBI charge set fees for the electronic submission of fingerprints. In addition to these fees, the vendor may charge a processing fee, which may vary from vendor to vendor. In the event the original submission of fingerprints is deemed unclassifiable by the ISP or FBI, and an applicant's fingerprints need to be resubmitted, the vendor may charge an additional fee for resubmission. <u>These fees are the responsibility of the applicant</u>. Contact the vendors for specific fee information and acceptable methods of payment.

What information or documents should I bring with me?

Contact the vendor for specific requirements. You should bring your driver's license or state issued identification card with you. You should take a copy of these instructions with you. Some vendors may require you to submit a completed version of the following image as a record of the fingerprinting process; this can be found on the OSFM website <u>Pyrotechnics Fingerprint Application</u> <u>Form and Instructions</u>. The vendor should issue a receipt to you identifying your TCN number. The TCN number is a unique number, which will be assigned when you are fingerprinted. It is important that you maintain a copy of the TCN number in case you need to track the processing of your fingerprints.

Fingerprint Submission Consent and Notification Form							
(Used for all Licensing and Employment Screening)							
The authorized agency (Agency) named below requires all applicants in the Agency's screening or approval process for the purpose identified below to submit to a fingerprint-based criminal history record information background check. The Agency will follow all applicable laws, rules and regulations concerning the criminal background check pursuant to the authorizing statute, Uniform Conviction Information Act and federal statute. The live scan vendor or Agency must confirm the identity of the applicant submitting the fingerprints. The live scan vendor or Agency must use the Applicant Information section to document the valid government issued identification provided by the applicant before the fingerprints are taken. This document also serves as a consent and notification form. The form must be signed by the applicant (See Page 2) in order to authorize the release of any criminal history record information that may exist regarding the applicant. The results of the inquiry will be forwarded to the Agency for review.							
Agency Information							
Requesting Agency Name:			Requesting Agency ORI Identifier:				
Office of the IL State Fire Marshal IL920690Z							
Requesting Agency Address:							
1035 Stevenson Drive, Springfield, IL 62703							
Fiscal Cost Center: (for entity responsible for paying ISP) Purpose Code:							
PDA							
	Applicant Info		_	-			
Name:	Se	ex:	Race:	Date of Bi	rth:		
SSN (if req. by Agency):	DL/ State ID/ Pas	ID/ Passport # :			DL/ID State:		
Livescan Vendor/Appointment Information							
Live Scan Fingerprint Vendor Company Name: Address:							
Phone Number:	Appointment Dat	nt Date & Time: IL Vendor License Number:					

If you have further questions or need assistance with the application process, please e-mail us at <u>SFM.PyroFireworks@illinois.gov</u>