

## **OFFICE OF THE ILLINOIS STATE FIRE MARSHAL**

## **REQUIREMENTS FOR FIRE SPRINKLER CONTACTOR LICENSING**

This is general information only. For further details on State license requirements, email SFM.Sprinklers@illinois.gov.

Illinois licenses contractors to perform Fire Sprinkler Contracting activities and recognizes the applicable standards of the National Fire Protection Association for the installation, maintenance, and testing of fire sprinklers.

The following information is needed to complete the License application for Fire Sprinkler Contractor:

- \_\_\_\_\_ To Obtain or Renew a Fire Sprinkler Contractor license, please use the <u>online form</u> (Login/Registration is required) or download the <u>PDF version</u>.
- \_\_\_\_\_ Identify the date the business was organized and Federal Employer Identification Number.
- List the officers of the business on the application ((a) in a sole proprietorship the owner and any person exercising managerial control; or (b) in a partnership, any partner having at least 10% ownership and any partner who exercises managerial control; or (c) in a corporation, any officer or director of the corporation and any person who has at least 10% ownership interest in such corporation).
- Submit a certificate of insurance providing coverage for personal injuries in the amount of not less than \$500,000.00 per person or \$1,000,000.00 per occurrence, coverage for property damage not less than \$1,000,000.00 per occurrence and provide proof of compliance with Illinois Workers' Compensation Act (820 ILCS 305).
- List the Designated Certified Person or, when applicable, the Responsible Managing Employee. Provide a *copy* of the Designated Certified Person's Illinois Professional Engineering License or NICET Level III certification in Water-Based Systems Layout.
- Employees or licensees involved in the inspection and/or testing of fire sprinkler systems and/or control equipment, shall possess either (i) NICET Level III certification in Inspection and Testing of Water Based Systems (or its equivalent) or (ii) ASSE 15010 certification or (iii) NFPA Water Based Fire Protection Systems Inspection Testing and Maintenance or (iv) evidence of satisfactory completion of certified sprinkler fitter apprenticeship program.
- \_\_\_\_\_ Submit a copy of the business' organizational chart showing the supervisory duties of the Designated Certified Person.
- \_\_\_\_\_ Submit a certified copy of the Assumed Name Filing from the county clerk if the business operates under another name.

Once the application has been processed and approved, you will be invoiced for the \$1,500.00 fee. The license is valid for 2 years and the license fee must be paid at time of invoice. If you fail to renew the license by the license's expiration date, a reinstatement fee of \$100.00 shall be assessed in addition to the \$1,500.00 fee. Upon receipt of the above documents and review of the application, the Office shall issue a license to engage in fire sprinkler contracting or shall notify the applicant of the reason for the denial of such license.

Information on licensing can be obtained from: https://sfm.illinois.gov/iam/business/fire-sprinkler-contractor-information.html